RKG Logo

Heads up!

Several of our clients have reported receiving this phishing email today:

From: Google Adwords-noreply [mailto:adwords-noreply@google.com]
Sent: Saturday, March 22, 2008 9:40 AM
To: XXXXXXXXXXXX
Subject: [Released by Allow List] Please Update Your Billing Information
————————
Dear Google AdWords Customer!

In order to update your billing information, please sign in to your AdWords account at https://adwords.google.com , and update your billing information. Your account will be reactivated as soon as you have entered your payment details. Your ads will show immediately if you decide to pay for clicks via credit or debit card. If you decide to pay by direct debit, we may need to receive your signed debit authorization before your ads start running, depending on our location. If you choose bank transfer, your ads will show as soon as we receive your first payment. (Payment options vary by location.)

Thank you for choosing AdWords. We look forward to providing you with the most effective advertising available.

Sincerely,

The Google AdWords Team
————————
This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message. If you have any questions after following the steps above, please visit the Google AdWords Help Center at https://adwords.google.com/support/bin/topic.py?topic=8336>
————————

The actual destination login URL hidden under the display URL: http://adwords.google.com.fr4ck.cn/select/Login

Clearly, this isn’t from Google.

It is phishing attack designed to steal your billing information. Beware!

Here’s Google’s response to our team asking about this:

From: XXXXX [mailto:XXXXXXXXX@google.com]
Sent: Monday, March 24, 2008 3:16 PM
To: XXXXXXXXXXXXX
Subject: Re: [#255928689] [Released by Allow List] Please Update Your Billing Information

Hi XXXXXXXX,

This appears to be a ’spoofing’ email sent to some AdWords advertisers recently. ‘Spoofing’ refers to the act of fraudulently altering certain properties of an email to make it appear as though it originated from a legitimate source. The email can then lead to a deceptive website which collects sensitive personal information. In this case, the email may have appeared to be from Google AdWords, asking for your account login information. Please do not respond to these emails.

Google is not responsible for nor are we able to monitor the actions of other parties. However, we are very committed to ensuring the safety and security of our users and our advertisers, and we take issues of fraud seriously. Moreover, we’ve dedicated a number of resources towards preventative measures, such as the Google Safe Browsing extension for Firefox. You can find more information about this feature at http://www.google.com/tools/firefox/safebrowsing/.

Here are some steps you can take to ensure the security of your account:

* Be wary of unsolicited messages. Google will never send unsolicited messages asking for your password or other sensitive information. If you need to change your account information, such as your billing details or your password, always sign into your AdWords account from https://adwords.google.com and make the changes directly within your account.

* Check the message headers. The ‘From:’ address and the ‘Return-path’ should reference the same source.

* Make sure the URL is legitimate. The AdWords homepage URL will always be https://adwords.google.com.

* Change your Google Account password frequently. To learn how, visit https://adwords.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=24828.

* Report suspicious messages to adwords-charge@google.com.

* Keep your computer’s antivirus and spyware protections up to date and regularly run system scans.

If you believe your Google AdWords account may have been compromised, please let us know so that we can initiate an investigation.

Best,

XXXXXXXXXX

——————
XXXXXX
Account Associate
National Agency Team

phishing

If you like this post, consider subscribing to our RSS feed. You can also have new posts sent to you via email.

Share this post (via email, Digg, Delicious, etc)

Similar Posts

Trackback

http://www.rimmkaufman.com/rkgblog/2008/03/24/beware-adwords-phishing-email/trackback/

Comments

  1. Karman, March 25, 2008:

    I guess google should take some actions not only to warn the adwords users but also to stop the fishing site. Even though it is in China, there should be some means to stop this

  2. Rob, March 25, 2008:

    I’ve been getting this phishing email up to 3 times a day for the last week or so and I’m not even a Google Adwords customer. I don’t have a commercial website so they (whoever they are) are casting their net wider.

  3. Alex, March 29, 2008:

    We received this email internally two days ago. We have www.opendns.com installed on our network which had already identified the fr4ck . cn as a phishing website. If you don’t have this in place now, look into it!

Your Comment

We "do-follow" links in comments. This may help your search rankings. Learn more...

Tags

RKG: ,
Technorati: ,

Email Updates

Categories

Recent Comments

  • Matthew: We use Joomla, I don't see why people complain about it, its very easy to follow and recently we launched JoomlaMafia.com for a place to...
  • Patrick: Google has started in the right direction and its nice to see that they are helping the environment. Other big companies that consume huge...
  • Alan Rimm-Kaufman: That's a marvelously perverse use of Google's tool -- kudos!
  • Tad Miller: The sad thing is, even if you don't select those really bad synonyms, Google's Expanded Broad Match will show them for you. I've...
  • david gonzalez: thanks very much Alan... you rock!
  • Gayle Dallaston: "There is a screaming need in the industry for someone to put together a network of clean affiliates, that will do the hard work...
  • Elbrus: In regards to the economy I just read over at marketingvox.com that multi-channel shoppers spend nearly twice as much on goods and services...
  • John K: I wrote a post about blog spam containing the essence of your law back in 2005, but I said (rather generically and not as quotable): "Any...
  • Bryan: Wow! I don't know how many times I've wished for something like this! Using Perl just never seemed quite as easy as writing a really...
  • Mamacita: This is a great interview! Steve Spangler ROCKS; I check my TV Guide every week so I can find him on "Ellen" or wherever he's appearing....
  • Andrew Moore: I attend YAPC every year, and love it. We depend on contributions from people like you, and each of us attendees are very aware of...
  • Danny: Ok, I'm definitely going to try some of those tips ... nice job!
  • Xurxo: Ryan, you're right on the money for some advertisers when you said that "the best solution involves a combination of geo-targeted terms...
  • Brook Schaaf: It is worth pointing out that search management agencies, which I understand Rimm Kaufmann to be, often regard affiliates as...
  • George Michie: Peter, I think the notion of a clean network holds promise, but protestations to the effect: "We're clean, We're clean" aren't going...

Blog Stats

  • Posts: 706
  • Words: 307,812
  • Comments: 1,020

Administration

Close
  • Social Web
  • E-mail
Powered by ShareThis