- December 28, 2006
- 5 comments
Dun & Bradstreet sends along a computer form via postal mail to our office long the lines of “our records indicate your D&B report could be more complete… blah blah blah… please visit www.dnb.com/report to add data… blah blah blah.” OK, sure.
But when our office folks enter www.dnb.com/report in the browser, it redirects to http://dnb.01o.net/asbs/servlet/SS?F=1236435.
Scary! Fear and doubt! What the heck is 01o.net? Are we being phished? (Very sophisticated phishing, given the postal mail piece?)
We think not: a some digging shows 01o.net is D&B’s email provider, and this was probably just a convenient way for D&B to toss up a form. But D&B should have delegated piece of their DNS (email.dnb.com, say) over to Click Tactics, and kept the users on dnb.com. They’re a credit bureau, for gosh sakes — D&B should strive to do everything they can to maintain trust.
This lesson applies to online retailers too — when using third-party email, surveys, analytics, etc etc, if the URL is visible in the browser bar, make sure the URL stays within your domain. Flipping users over to strange URLs creates fear and doubt.
If you like this post, consider subscribing to our RSS feed. You can also have new posts sent to you via email.
Similar Posts
- Rant: Getting Your Resume Read, Or Why Office 2007 Is Not Your Friend
- Mailinator: Disposable Public Email Addresses
- Domain Registration Best Practices
- The National Postal Museum: Mail and Marketing History
- Google Held To Higher Privacy Standard?


I don’t know what you people are tryin to do with this site. I have a good credit score and don’t need someone to tell me that I have an incomplete credit report. Give me some exact information or take me off the mailing list.
Thanks in Advance JIM
James —
You should direct your comments to D&B, not us.
We’re not them.
We too aren’t comfortable with how D&B markets their stuff via the “incomplete” fear approach.
Here’s the D&B contact info link:
http://www.dnb.com/us/about/media/dnbcompanyinformation.html
Good luck
Alan
www/dnb.com/report link only allows you to put in info so that their sales dept. can contact you. They charge hundreds of dollars to “complete” your credit report. Basically they are saying “pay us or pay the consequences”.
YOU SENT ME A CREDIT REPORT NOTIFICATION WITH A D&B DUNS NUMBER AS 09-618-6908. YOUR LETTER SAYS TO DO SO BY 4-30-2008. NOW WHAT DO IDO?
Don — We’re not D&B. Here’s their contact link:
http://www.dnb.com/us/about/media/dnbcompanyinformation.html
Good luck –
Alan